Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Stromlo – Condor Creek (Goulburn interclub II, home) – Results

March 22, 2015 @ 9:00 am - 11:00 pm



We had 61 riders turn out for the second leg of the VCC-GCC-CCC interclub weekend.

By all accounts people enjoyed racing in the cool overcast conditions. The course was quite hilly including the Three Sisters and Urriara Crossing climbs, with ABC grades also getting the full Condor Creek climb.

Thanks to our friends at Goulburn Cycling Club for making the trip to Canberra, and to Canberra Cycling Club for making this a good-spirited three-way rivalry.

Special thanks to the very professional and well organised assistants this morning- Simon Dwyer, Glen Moorby, Seb Lacrampe and Lyn Vasudeva. Thanks also to Matt Haddock who stepped in to be the impromptu finish chute recorder and to Simon Lai who helped with finish line timing.

Points from todays racing were as follows:
VCC 88
CCC 59

Results are shown below. Please advise if any corrections (including to name spellings) are required.

Grade Place Name Club Time
A 1 Nick Wilson ANU 1:23:55
2 Steve Crispin CCC 1:23:55
3 Steve Isbel CCC 1:24:01
B 1 Daniel Lekhac VCC 1:24:34
2 Brandon Bardsley VCC 1:24:39
3 Michael Taylor CCC 1:24:59
4 Dale Brearley CCC 1:25:06
5 Dan Simms CCC 1:26:46
6 Matt Dunstall VCC 1:29:29
7 Paul Frankcom CCC 1:29:29
8 Michael Rosser VCC 1:29:29
9 Grant Grubb VCC 1:29:33
10 Hardy Lhose CCC 1:31:00
C 1 Mark Francis CCC 1:28:41
2 Don Mankevitch/Ashley Carruthers VCC 1:28:41
3 Ed Hilly VCC 1:28:56
4 Adam Rolls CCC 1:28:56
5 Murli Baker-Gabb VCC 1:29:41
6 Dominic Vigar CCC 1:29:41
7 Mark Langman VCC 1:30:02
8 James Simpson CCC 1:31:07
9 Garth Heron VCC 1:31:07
10 Geoff Miles VCC 1:32:10
11 Andrew Schofield VCC 1:33:34
12 Mitch Dalton VCC 1:33:34
13 Long Tran VCC 1:34:13
14 Andrew Collins VCC 1:35:18
15 Jayson Brenten VCC 1:38:05
16 Ben Long VCC 1:38:53
17 Simon Costello VCC 1:38:55
18 Sean Hunt CCC 1:40:27
D 1 Simon Stratford CCC 1:02:16
2 Daniel Brunato VCC 1:02:16
3 Stu Roesler ADCC 1:02:52
4 Craig Paterson VCC 1:02:55
5 Katie Taylor (1st female) VCC 1:02:55
6 Matt Banks CCC 1:02:55
7 Michael Ryan VCC 1:02:55
8 Graham Chadwick VCC 1:03:16
9 Jenny Trudinger (2nd female) VCC 1:03:51
10 Jeremy Smith VCC 1:04:23
11 Sam Hwang VCC 1:04:23
12 Pip Henty (3rd female) VCC 1:04:27
13 Emily Daft (4th female) VCC 1:04:27
14 Lewis Lee VCC 1:04:36
15 Matt Overton VCC 1:04:36
16 Peta Brill (5th female) VCC 1:06:01
17 Mark Coghlan VCC 1:06:05
18 Vu Pham VCC 1:06:05
19 Christopher Berry GCC 1:07:34
20 David Rowe GCC 1:09:36
21 Jack Wray VCC 1:14:07
22 Rob Woolley VCC 1:15:05
23 Richard Davies GCC 1:15:35
E 1 Dan Rankins VCC 1:19:45
2 Phil Polglaise VCC 1:19:45
3 Tasmin Davies (1st female) GCC 1:25:10
4 Steven Byrne VCC 1:30:41
5 Hannah Calderwood (2nd female) VCC 1:36:28
6 Colin Calderwood VCC 1:36:28


Event Information

Everyone is welcome as VCC racing kicks off for 2015 with the Goulburn interclub. These races have been among our most popular weekends of racing over the past few years, so let’s aim to make this years events the best yet. These event is a home and away interclub between Goulburn, Canberra and Vikings cycling clubs. Members of other clubs (eg. ADCC and ANUCC) are welcome to race, they simply won’t be contributing to a club pointscore.

We are trialling pre-registration for this event! Please help us out by registering in advance so we can ensure an efficient sign on, ensure everyone is in an appropriate grade and calculate some good handicaps. Pre-registered riders will need to sign on and pay race fees on the day.

Pre-register here (use your CA username and password)


Date: Sunday 22 March 2015
Time: 9am roll away, registration opens at 8:30am
Starting point/Registration: 2.5 kms down the road from Stromlo Forest Park.
Distance: ABC grades approx 50km. DE grades approx 35km
Format: Scratch racing (grades start separately and you are only racing others in the same grade)
Cost: $15

Course: Rego and start/finish is about 2.5km north-west from the Stromlo Forest Park entrance (towards Uriarra Crossing). Riders race through Uriarra Crossing, up the false flat and towards Condor Creek. A, B and C grades will head all the way up the Condor Creek climb to turn around at the end of the bitumen. D and E grades turn earlier at East-West Rd (~2km past Uriarra Homestead). Both grades will return to the finish via Uriarra Crossing.

Course map and profile: http://www.mapmyride.com/au/macquari…route-67377005
-Extreme care must be taken at Uriarra Crossing in both directions.
-Care must be taken descending the Condor Creek climb.

Please note:
-If you have a permanent race number please bring it along.
-Please bring your valid Cycling Australia race licence.
-Riders must be present for the race brief prior to their grade start.
-Preferred parking is at Stromlo Forest Park and then ride over to rego for a bit of a warm up. Avoid parking cars around the start area.

Race organiser: Vikings Cycling Club

Race director: George Thomas
Commissaire: TBA
Volunteers: Glen Moorby, Lyn Vasudeva, Sébastien Lacrampe, Simon Dwyer
Traffic Control: RTMT



March 22, 2015
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Event Category:




Uriarra Road
Uriarra Road, Coree, NSW ACT 2600 + Google Map