2018 Annual Awards & Christmas Bunch Ride

December 21, 2018

Another wonderful Norman bunch ride with 100+ riders lined up at the start to ride in what started out as 5 bunches. Sadly the weather didn’t cooperate and we rode through cloudy skies and mist/drizzle at times which dried up before arriving back at the Little Pickle for breakfast for the AGM and Annual Awards.

These awards are to recognise some of the tremendous effort and achievements of club members throughout the year.

Novice of the Year:

For the novice program graduates from the last 12 months who have show great dedication and improvement

Male: {honourable mentions to Kieran McCormack and Mark Richardson}. This goes to one of our Spring Novice Program graduates who is also kicking goals on the crit track Chris Oborn

Female: It’s hard to look past this Spring Program graduate who has really put herself out there in terms of racing and being involved. Congratulations Kirsty Lower

Best Wheel

For the best wheel to follow in a race

This guy is always getting himself into good situations within races. If you see him go, it’s best to get on his wheel. Always a strong set of legs and a cool head. Congratulations Kurt Andrews

Most Improved

Riders who have trained hard all year, participated in club racing, training and bunch rides and reaped the rewards for their efforts by demonstrating great gains over the past 12 months

Female: This person has been kicking around for a few years always with plenty of promise. This year she has shown what hard work and deidication to a proper training plan can accomplish with a Stage Win, Sprint Classification Win and GC Win at the Junior & Womens Tour and A Stage Win and Sprint Classification Win at the Tour of Bright. Congratulations Ariana Odermatt

Male: This person is someone that not many who just frequent the Norman would be familiar with, but has been representing the Club right throughout the year at track events all over the place including RAW in Sydney, winning races at the National Junior Track Series in Melbourne and Sydney with tremendous improvement throughout the year. Jarrah is only new to track cycling but is demonstrating excellent skills and commitment to the Club and other juniors. Congratulations Jarrah Anderson.


For someone who goes over and above with their riding. The sort of person that makes you go ‘wow, you did that?’

There is one standout complete nutter in our ranks who many of us shook our heads at and collectively said ‘Wow, you did that?’ this year. He rode across Australia and even managed to raise over $5000 for the Black Dog Institute in the process. Jason Mitchell

Meritorious Service Award

For someone who has shown dedication to the club over a long period of time

These two people have done a great deal of work behind the scenes making sure that the Club runs itself, and racing smoothly. There is a lot to keep on top of but they’ve done a great job and have been fantastic assets to have helping to run the Club over the past few years. Congratulations (and Thank You) Peta Brill and Matt Dyne

Club Member of the Year

For the greatest contributions to the club by general members over the past 12 months – volunteering, racing, training, contributing to club life

This Club Member has really put in for the Club this year. He’s done it all: Mentoring and coaching Juniors, oragnising weekly trips to Sydney during Winter, adding Track related content to the Club’s social media pages and really being a driving force for good within the Club. Congratulations Ray Gorrell